Dubstep

11/23/2009

It’s been a while since I’ve come across some music that I’ve really been stoked on. I’m a pretty open person and a music junkie, and in my opinion, 2009 has been a great year for music, especially hip hop. A lot of good things dropped this year, but nothing has really made me over the top pumped on what was going into my ears. I went to Toronto this weekend for a friends birthday and he hooked me up with a genre of music called “dubstep“. 15 minutes into chillin to this music and I was in love. Dubstep is a touch hard to explain. It’s instrumental, with samples here and there. Big ephasis on the beat. The beats are so tight in dubstep. I just can’t get over how amazing this music is. I’ve mostly been listening to an artist who calls himself Caspa, but if your really feelin this genre, also check out Benga, Rusko or Chase & Status. I’ve peeped them all and they all bring something sick to this unique area of music. My new love has become Dubstep!

7 Responses to “Dubstep”

  1. […] This post was Twitted by dubstepper […]

  2. If you’re new to it, check out http://sub.fm/
    Lots of dubstep shows.

    There’s huge debate online about what is dubstep – everyone has their own idea – but basically tempos are 130 to 140 bpm, bass sounds have a lot of LFO and resonance applied (wobble) and there’s a dub feel with the use of delays and reverbs. Dubstep has been bringing in influences from other genres such as hiphop, drum’n’bass, Bollywood soundtracks and more. It’s a continually evolving genre. And it was invented in Croydon, where I’m from!

    • Hey, thanks for checking out the site and then actually taking time to post a comment with some usefulness! Yeah, I’m completely new to this genre, but I’m loving ti. It’s all I listen to now.
      Thanks again!

  3. carrie said

    I just wrote a piece on dubstep on my wordpress blog, and in particular, a party I attended recently where Rusko played. It was intended for people that may not know what dubstep is, but you might get a kick out of it.

    I am fiercely in love with this music!!

    BTW, I put tags on my story that included “dubstep,” but when I put that into the searchbox on the wordpress home page, mine doesn’t come up. Ant idea what I might be doing wrong?

    Carrie

    • Thank you for the words and the peep!
      As far as It goes for your tagging, I’m not sure If I’m able to help. I’m not even sure If mine comes up now that I think about it. If you do find the answer, please share! ha ha.

    • Ped said

      I’m not sure about this but maybe WordPress does not display your own stuff when you’re logged in. Try searching the words when logged out and you may see your own writings.

  4. Ped said

    This is great. Dubstep has become my creed recently and I’m glad to see dubstep fans around. This is probably the genre that never bores you.
    You should also try Burial. He’s magnificent believe me.

Leave a Reply

